Offshore Anime

Sailing away…

Watch Uchouten Kazoku – Summer 2013 Review

1 Comment

It was a pretty average season this summer except for one particularly good outlier. I don’t mean that in a bad way though. There were a lot of shows that I thoroughly enjoyed, but none of them really stood out from the rest. Compared to last season, I think it all went pretty well.
vlcsnap-2013-09-09-01h35m42s239Uchouten Kazoku

If you haven’t watched this show yet, you need to go do that right now. Seriously. Stop reading this post and go watch it. I’ll wait.

This is hands down the best anime of the season. Hell, it’s hands down the best anime of the year. It has a great story, great characters and great artwork. I don’t think I have a single complaint about Uchouten Kazoku. Watch it. You won’t be disappointed.

10/10. Best OP. Best ED. 

vlcsnap-2013-09-08-22h11m48s250

Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C3-bu

A strong cast of characters, and a continuous focus on Yura’s coming-of-age brought this anime to the forefront this season. It’s a fun show with a nice blend of comedy, action and a tad bit of drama. It has cute girls too which is always a plus.

6/10.

vlcsnap-2013-11-10-14h22m56s43

Manly tears were shed.

Kimi no Iru Machi

For all the anime labeled as romance, I don’t think pure romance anime come along very often. Writers seem to feel the need to add some crappy comedy or harem elements to a show regardless of the genre. Kimi no Iru Machi was a refreshing change of pace from the usual formula of moe girl, tsundere girl, smart girl and childhood friend girl. That being said, it’s not the best romance anime I’ve seen. It’s rather predictable, but if you’re looking for a nice romance anime, then I would consider this a good place to start.

6/10.

Gatchaman

Gatchaman Crowds

Hajime was one of the best characters this season, and she was the foundation of this show from beginning to end. In a way she reminds me of Kobato (from the anime of the same name) in that she’s always seeing the silver lining, but unlike Kobato, she isn’t completely ignorant of the world around her. It doesn’t show through very often, but I think that by the end of Crowds, it was fairly clear that she knew all too well how dangerous the world was. Still, she persevered and kept up her cheerful appearance when her friends had already given up.

That still couldn’t make up for the rest of cast which lacked even a portion of the energy that Hajime brought to each scene. And while the story started strong, I felt that it had kind of lost its way by the midway point of the season. I’m sure some of you would disagree, but the message went from subtle to overtly preachy in the final few episodes.

6/10.

vlcsnap-2013-08-30-02h03m06s13

Servant x Service

A decent comedy (finally) in a setting other than a school.

5/10.

vlcsnap-2013-10-06-01h47m45s23

Shingeki no Kyojin

I didn’t understand all the hype going into this show, and I still don’t understand it today. The writing is bad, and most of the characters are two dimensional and boring. Not that character development matters as everybody gets killed off anyway. Is the anime community so starved of action anime that it would actually call this a quality show? I can’t deny that I didn’t like the fight scenes, but that was all I liked.

5/10.

vlcsnap-2013-09-22-20h45m26s4

Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi

This show is set in a unique universe which puts it a step above most anime from the start. If the show had been able to take advantage of that element, it would have done much better, but the last arc still ended up being a supernatural school arc. Of all the settings they could have chosen, why would they pick a school? I’ll never understand. The overarching plot had the potential to be interesting, but the show instead focused on individual subplots that lacked what made the rest of the show special. I’d like to give it another chance though, so I’ll keep hoping for a second season.

5/10.

vlcsnap-2013-09-21-13h11m58s203

Free!

And of course, who could forget the obligatory Kyoani show? The drama was lackluster, and the comedy just recycled the same few jokes over and over again. It was pretty though, and it did get me to start swimming laps at the pool again. I guess there’s always that.

5/10.

vlcsnap-2013-07-26-21h41m23s99

Rozen Maiden

I’d like to make it clear that I still think this anime has some of most gorgeous background art ever. Unfortunately that couldn’t make up for the rest of the problems this show faced. The beginning started off well, but the middle lagged so badly that I felt it rushed the ending and left a lot of questions unanswered. I had high hopes for Rozen Maiden at the beginning of the season, but they kept dwindling after each episode, and the finale did nothing to help the show recover.

5/10.

vlcsnap-2013-09-07-19h51m04s209

Toaru Kagaku no Railgun S

I have a soft spot in my heart for Toaru Kagaku no Railgun, and that made this show all the more painful to watch. It had its moments, but overall it was brought down by slow pacing and a huge amounts of filler. It was nice to see the relationship between Mikoto and Kuroko take on a more serious tone, but even that was just a small bubble in a sea of monotony.

4/10.

vlcsnap-2013-09-02-16h25m12s105

Four hours later…

Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui!

A comment on Draggle’s blog described this show quite eloquently (minus the grammar):

Honestly, Watamote feels like a series written by someone who’s been like Tomoko for people [who have] been like Tomoko. The amount of thoughts and behaviors I recognize [in] myself is frightening. It’s also very self-deprecating – doesn’t sugarcoat it, and straight out tells what is WRONG with people [who are] in this situation, and why and how we all were a bit assholes when we behaved that way, yet has understanding for the feelings of loneliness that underlay the whole problem. Honestly, I can see how [anyone] who’s not been part of this specific “crowd” would find some things a bit baffling. It’s like a long, convoluted and rather masochistic in-joke.

In a way, this show was less of a comedy and more of a social commentary. It was embarrassing to watch, and most of the jokes made me cringe rather than laugh. It was painful just to see a little bit of myself in Tomoko; I can’t imagine what it would be like to actually be able to relate to her. I might be a masochistic, but I would be screaming the safety word if I started to compare myself to her.

One redeeming part about this show was the brother-sister relationship between Tomoko and Tomoki. Some of the interactions between them had me crying tears of laughter because, to me, it really is an honest depiction of how many brothers and sisters deal with each other.

4/10.

Fate

Fate/kaleid line Prisma Illya

I haven’t watched the original Fate/stay night, so it might have been a poor choice on my part to pick up this show. I’m sure a lot of the jokes referencing the original series went way over my head. Even if I could understand the jokes, I’m confident that they wouldn’t have brought this show’s score above a five.

4/10.

vlcsnap-2013-09-21-12h28m17s126

I could literally hear the clunk as this show hit rock bottom.

Danganronpa

Perhaps I scored this show so low because I was expecting something a lot different when I first picked it up. I thought I would be watching a brutal psychological thriller, but instead I got a mediocre mystery.

3/10.

It’s been a while since I posted anything, but I’m still browsing blogs and watching shows on a regular basis. Maybe I’ll even put up some Fall 2013 impressions this week.

One thought on “Watch Uchouten Kazoku – Summer 2013 Review

  1. Oh, I was so enamored with Uchouten Kazoku when it was airing. The second half kind of soured my overall impression when everyone suddenly lost their moral ambiguity, but it was a very, very strong contender for being one of my favorites of all time.

    It seems like I had a much softer spot when it came to Railgun, or that my rating scale is sorely askew if it’s at a 6/10 on my MAL. I don’t even know why I’m so willing to forgive it for a lot of the drivel it has forced me through, especially when the payoff is as busy and scattered as the final episode. I think it helped that I really only cared about Misaka, and that I’ve read the manga beforehand. And that I’ve watched Index. Compared to the likes of Railgun, nothing really gets as disappointing as Index.

    You should watch some Silver Spoon and be ready for the second season.

Leave a Reply

