Offshore Anime

Sailing away…

Dear Friends, Once More – Spring 2013 Schedule

7 Comments

Spring 2013

If the previews are any indication, this season isn’t going to be much better than the last. My predictions are always wrong when it comes to this sort of stuff though so my opinion really doesn’t hold much weight. Here’s to me being wrong again!

Red Data Girl

RDG: Red Data Girl

A modern fantasy based on Japanese Shinto legends. Suzuhara Izumiko is a 15-year-old girl, who has been raised and protected in a shrine deep in the Kumano mountains. She is quite shy and destroys all the electric devices she touches. When she begins to think about going out of the mountains and moving to the city, her guardian Sagara Yukimasa recommends her to enter a high school in Tokyo and forces his son Miyuki to serve Izumiko for life.

I actually heard about this when it was first announced. Its premise piqued my interest then, and it still sounds pretty interesting now. I was hoping for something that wasn’t going to be riddled with drama and teenage angst, but it’s being produced by P.A. Works so that certainly doesn’t get my hopes up. Still, it’s unfair to judge a book by its cover.

Karneval 2

Karneval

Nai searches for someone important to him, with only an abandoned bracelet as a clue. Gareki steals and pick-pockets to get by from day to day. The two meet in a strange mansion where they are set-up, and soon become wanted criminals by military security operatives. When Nai and Gareki find themselves desperate in a hopeless predicament, they encounter none other than the country’s most powerful defense organization—”Circus”!!

This looks like a genuinely fun, energetic series. Beyond that I don’t really know what to say. If anything, the manga seems fairly well liked so it can’t be that bad, right?

Photo Kano

Photokano

The story revolves around the male protagonist who just got a DSLR camera from his dad and start to develop photography as his new hobby.

This is a shot in the dark for me. Nothing more, nothing less. Upon further research, I found out that it’s actually the spiritual successor to KimiKiss (which I absolutely despised) so things aren’t really looking up. Oh, and it’s based on a PSP game. I think I need to rephrase what I said before, this is still a shot in the dark, but I may be facing the wrong direction.

Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru

Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru

This romantic comedy revolves around an antisocial high school student named Hikigaya Hachiman with a distorted view on life and no friends or girlfriend. When he see his classmates talking excitedly about living their adolescent lives, he mutters, They’re a bunch of liars. When he is asked about his future dreams, he responds, Not working. A teacher gets Hachiman to join the volunteer service club, which happens to have the school’s prettiest girl, Yukinoshita Yukino.

Am I the only one who gets some serious déjà vu from that synopsis? I’ll assume that’s a good thing. It’s not like the industry would keep making anime with the same premise if that said premise was generic and uninspired.

Aku no Hana

Aku no Hana

Kasuga Takao is a boy who loves reading books, particularly Baudelaire’s Les Fleurs du Mal. A girl at his school, Saeki Nanako, is his muse and his Venus, and he admires her from a distance. One day, he forgets his copy of Les Fleurs du Mal in the classroom and runs back alone to pick it up. In the classroom, he finds not only his book, but Saeki’s gym uniform. On a mad impulse, he steals it.

Now everyone knows “some pervert” stole Saeki’s uniform, and Kasuga is dying with shame and guilt. Furthermore, the weird, creepy, and friendless girl of the class, Nakamura, saw him take the uniform. Instead of revealing it was him, she recognizes his kindred deviant spirit and uses her knowledge to take control of his life. Will it be possible for Kasuga to get closer to Saeki, despite Nakamura’s meddling and his dark secret? What exactly does Nakamura intend to do with him?

This is possibly one of the only shows this season with the potential to be something great. Even then, it’s just as likely that this will end up being an absolute train wreck. Only time will tell.

Yuyushiki

Yuyushiki

The manga follows the school life of three girls in the data processing club—Yuzuko, Yukari, and Yui.

Cute girls doing cute things. What? You don’t find data processing cute? I’ve got to say that nothing gives me the warm fuzzies like a well-formatted Excel sheet.

Aiura

Aiura

The story centers around Amaya, Iwasawa, and Uehara—three “annoying, spirited high school girls with zero motivation”—and their classmates. Their daily life is “what happens when there is nothing happening.”

More cute girls doing cute things.

To Aru Kagaku no Railgun S

Toaru Kagaku no Railgun S

The arc focuses on the ordeals of Mikoto Misaka after discovering the existence of the Radio Noise sisters that are being used in the Level 6 Shift, an experiment where they are killed in order for the highest-ranking Level 5, Accelerator, can achieve Level 6.

This series is up there with Code Geass on my list of guilty pleasures. Toaru Majutsu no Index was actually one of the first anime I ever watched so maybe this just brings back fond memories. I don’t know.

For better or worse, my anime schedule this spring looks like it’s going to be a lot lighter than it was this winter. On the bright side, that’ll give me a chance to work through some waitlisted anime that have been collecting dust on my hard drive. Even bigger news (for me anyway) is that the BDs for Evangelion 3.0 and the Madoka Magica films should be coming out sometime in April.

I am prone to missing out on a good anime, so if it looks like I forgot something, point it out.

7 thoughts on “Dear Friends, Once More – Spring 2013 Schedule

  1. y u no join attack on titan circlejerk

    The only things I’m invested in are Aku no Hana and Railgun S2 because I’m familiar with the manga for both. Which, ostensibly, means that I’m doomed to shatter my own expectations. Source material is a bitch.

    • Second call for Attack on Titan – NEEDZ MOAR DRAMATIC MUSIC YO.
      Also, Gargantia looks like it might be interesting, since Urobochi’s the writer and so you know things have to go down. But who knows – maybe it’ll be the only happy thing he’s written, and I’ll sit there drowning in my own pool of tears.

      • Something about Attack on Titan just annoys me to no end. It doesn’t help that the protagonist is a self-righteous idiot. And is it wrong that the opening makes me burst out laughing?

        Gargantia is starting to look pretty good, but I suspect things are going to get depressing soon. I actually don’t mind Urobuchi as long as he avoids the long-winded monologues.

  2. Haha, and I thought I was a pessimist when it comes to new seasons. I was interested in RDG, but I saw P.A. Works and I was like HAHAHAHAHA….no. They’ve been on a shitty streak since Another, and I must rid the stench that was Shitty Shitty (I mean Tari Tari) out of my head. PhotoKano looks extremely bland, but the MC looks like Shinji Ikari LOL.

    Anyways, I’m stoked for Aku no Hana as a manga reader that preview totally did the series justice, even if we didn’t see the rotoscope animation which I hope won’t look too jarring. Valvrave too, since I loved Gundam SEED and the thought of Nana Mizuki and T.M. Revolution singing together makes me think happy thoughts! Yeah, I hope I drop some of these shows if only to focus on school.

    • I’m not trying to be pessimistic, but it looks the same as last season as far as quality goes. As of now, I’m putting most of my hope on Aku no Hana. You’ve read the manga so what do you think the odds of a successful adaptation are? From what I hear, they might have some trouble putting together an acceptable ending.

  3. Yeah, surprised you haven’t picked up on Attack on Titan yet, it’s stirred up quite some commotion. Also Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet is the latest Urobuchi Gen/Production I.G. effort, I’d look into that.

    And Valvrave for Sunrise robos.

    • I looked into Gargantia, and I’m glad I did because it’s my top pick so far for this season. I also watched the first two episodes of Attack on Titan, and it didn’t impress me nearly as much as it probably should have. I managed to carve out some time for Valvrave too, but it seems like pretty standard mecha (which is why I passed it up in the first place).

Leave a Reply

