Offshore Anime

Sailing away…

Everybody’s doing it – 50 Questions

3 Comments

Answering this series of questions seems to be the in thing across the anisphere so, to be safe, I’m going to follow the crowd. My tastes tend to change from day to day, but I’ll do my best to give you some legitimate answers. Who knows? You might even learn a thing or two about me.

1) Who is your favorite male anime character?

My favorite character would have to be Shinji Ikari from NGE. His portrayal is incredibly human in the best and worse ways. My favorite personality though would probably be Spike Spiegel from Cowboy Bebop. It was hard decision for both of these choices.

2) Who is your favorite female anime character?

Again, I’d have to give my favorite character pick to Asuka Langley Soryu. NGE may have done some things wrong, but they excelled in the character department. My favorite personality is Sejougahara Hitagi from Bakemonogatari. There wasn’t a whole lot of competition in this department.

3) What is your favorite anime soundtrack?

I’m not a huge music person, but I would probably have to pick Cowboy Bebop. I’ve always enjoyed jazz, and, to some extent, bebop as well. I didn’t mind the more folksy/country music either.

4) What is your favorite anime opening?

How could anybody give this an accurate answer? I don’t know about you guys, but I’ve got a huge list of favorites for both openings and endings. If your going to back me into a corner though, I guess I would have to say both the openings for Mawaru Penguindrum were incredibly well done. The music, artwork and tone all fit together perfectly.

5) What is your favorite anime closing?

It’s an interesting decision, but I think I would have to choose Miyako Miyamura’s closing from ef – a tale of memories. If you’ve ever seen that show, I’m sure you know exactly what I talking about. It might be kind of unfair because it is specifically tailored for a single event in the show, but it really was a deeply emotional scene.

6) What is your favorite anime scene?

This was a really difficult choice to make. All my top shows have scenes that have stuck with me sense I watched them so it was hard to figure out exactly which one deserved to be the top pick. The ending to Mawaru Penguindrum was a perfect conclusion to the series as a whole. It managed to strike a balance between drama and catharsis. It was a solid ending, but it was still open-ended enough to allow the viewer to form their own interpretation. Few anime can make similar claims.

7) If you could meet any anime character, who would it be?

I wouldn’t mind sharing a few drinks with Lawrence from Spice and Wolf. He seems like a pretty chill guy, and we could talk economics too.

8) What anime character is most similar to you in terms of personality?

I’m probably most similar to Kyon from The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. I’m not necessarily quiet, but I’m not a chatterbox either. I’m pretty cynical too, and I can be kind of a wet blanket when I’m around my more imaginative friends.

9) What is your favorite thing about anime?

The animation. In all seriousness, it is the one thing that makes anime completely unique. I’d like to think that the huge amount of creativity involved in the artwork and animation leads to more creative plots and characters as well.

10) What is your least favorite thing about anime?

Anime seem to have a noticeable problem of falling into annoying trends and stereotypes. They receive a large portion of their revenue from merchandising so they have to cater to “fanboys” as opposed to the wider audience. This often times leads to worse anime, and I’m sure it contributes to the overwhelming amount of unnecessary moe and fanservice we see across all genres of anime.

11) Who are your favorite anime couple?

My favorite couple is Araragi and Senjougahara from Bakemonogatari. I can’t get enough of that playful banter. I’m just happy to see a relationship that isn’t incredibly one-sided like most romance anime.

12) Who is your favorite anime animal?

I had to sit and think about this for a while, but then it hit me. Ein from Cowboy Bebop is without a doubt my favorite.

13) What anime would make a good game?

It might be a boring answer, but I’m surprised their aren’t more Gundam games out there. I want to see a gundam game like The 08th MS Team. I prefer the realistic mobile suits over the super-powered ones.

14) What game would make a good anime?

Not very many games have stories that would work well as anime, but I have a feeling that Half-Life would do fairly well. But Gordon can’t talk.

15) What was the first anime you ever watched?

Pokemon, but the first anime I watched knowing it was anime was Code Geass.

16) Do you think you’ll ever stop watching anime?

I’ll stop watching anime when I stop watching TV and browsing the internet.

17) What is your favorite genre of anime?

I’m having a lot of trouble figuring out the answer to this. I checked my MAL profile, but my top anime are pretty diverse. For lack of a better answer, I’d have to say drama (not romantic drama).

18) What is your least favorite genre of anime?

Shounen. I can’t stand the themes this genre promotes, and the characters are almost always annoying stereotypes.

19) Are you open about watching anime with people you know?

Before I came to college, nobody knew that I watched anime. I actively kept it hidden from my family, and would go so far as to close it if they so much as entered the room. Anime just has too many negative stereotypes in America so I like avoid the inevitable confrontation. At college, I don’t really mind who finds out, but I don’t go screaming my preferences from the rooftops either.

20) Have you ever been to Japan?

No, but I plan to study abroad in South Korea next spring. I might end up visiting Japan, China or even North Korea if I can pull some strings.

21) What anime was the biggest letdown for you?

Ghost in the Shell. It seemed like it was just up my alley, but I couldn’t get myself to enjoy it. There was too much technobabble, and a lot of the themes seemed disconnected from the plot as a whole. I’ve considered re-watching it if I get the time.

22) What anime was better than expected?

I really enjoyed Sora no Woto, but my opinion doesn’t seem to be shared by many. I’ll admit the characters were all pretty generic, but the setting and atmosphere were something different altogether.

23) What is the best anime fight scene?

Asuka’s fight in The End of Evangelion. Her entire existence had built up to this one moment, and it was executed beautifully. It was action packed, smoothly animated and incredibly meaningful.

24) Who is your anime waifu?

Senjougahara Hitagi from Bakemonogatari. She’s confident, witty and manages to maintain her femininity all at the same time. It doesn’t hurt that I’m a bit of a masochist too.

25) What was your favorite video game as a child?

Pokemon Red Version. Who didn’t love that game? I don’t think I have a single friend who hasn’t been obsessed with that game at one point or another.

26) Most embarrassing moment?

You know the infamous toothbrush scene from Nisemonogatari? If not, look it up; I’ll wait…

I was watching that in my dorm room when my roommate had some friends over. Needless to say, they now think that I’m a complete pervert.

27) Can you drive? Do you own a car?

I can drive. I share a hand-me-down 2002 Jeep Liberty with my older brother.

28) Are you mature?

I’d like to believe so. I’m facetious to a fault, but I still take things pretty seriously when the situation calls for it.

29) What year were you born?

April 23, 1993.

30) Do you prefer cats or dogs?

I don’t dislike either, but I’m definitely a dog person. I had golden retriever-border collie mix throughout middle school and I high school. I remember having to vacuum my house every single day because of the massive amounts of hair. As soon as I graduate, I plan on getting a Welsh Corgi. I wanted a bigger dog, but I’ll probably be living in the city so that would be unfair to the dog.

31) Describe yourself physically.

I’m 5′ 8”, weigh 125 pounds and am white. I’ve got strawberry-blonde hair and blue eyes. I run and do a little bit of lifting, but I’m not particularly muscular.

32) What would you name your first child?

If it’s a girl, Sophia. If it’s a guy, William. I don’t have a real reason; they just sound nice.

33) What is the worst injury you have ever had?

I dislocated my finger when I was little. Other than that, sailing keeps my legs permanently bruised.

34) What is your worse habit?

I spend way to much time watching the news and lurking /pol/ on 4chan. I’m not sure if this is that bad of a habit, but I could probably be managing my time a bit better.

35) Do you drink or smoke?

I drink socially, but I don’t usually smoke. I might smoke a cigarette or cigar if the situation arises.

36) Do you have a tattoo?

No, and I won’t ever get one. The only people who I think should be getting tattoos are those in the military. Other than that, they should be avoided at all costs. Human preferences change too quickly to make permanent tattoos a good idea.

37) Are you a morning person or a night person?

I’m a night person without a doubt. My friends often bug me and ask when I last saw the sunrise. I tell them I see it all the time right before I go to sleep.

38) Have you ever slept past midday?

You have got to be kidding me…

39) Do you regret anything?

Of course. Every decision you make means your giving something else up. You just have to hope that the decisions you make are the right ones.

40) Can you count the number of friends you have on one hand?

I tend to favor a quality over quantity approach when it comes to friends. Even then, I still have more than I can count on one hand. It’s important to have variety with your friends and, unlike in anime, I don’t think you can get that with only five friends.

41) Do you wear glasses?

Yep. I have an astigmatism, and it doesn’t help that I read a lot too. To put it in perspective, I can’t see the big E on the vision chart. I believe that means my vision is worse than 20/200.

42) Are you a picky eater?

Yeah, and I hate myself for it. I live in New Orleans, and I don’t like seafood. It’s a sad existence.

43) Would you die for someone?

Would I knowingly die for someone? I highly doubt it. Would I risk my life for someone? I’m sure I would if I cared enough about them. In order to knowingly die for someone, I would have to have reached the conclusion that death would be better than living without them (or living with the guilt of letting them die). I can’t imagine any situation that would meet that requirement.

44) If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

Super intelligence? I feel like I could accomplish a lot and have fun too. I’m never good with these hypothetical questions.

45) Do you believe in the supernatural?

No. I believe everything in this universe follows natural laws. If something seems to be supernatural, it usually means we just haven’t found the explanation for it yet. This has been historically proven time and time again.

46) Would you rather be rich or famous?

I would rather be famous. Wealth can only make you so happy, and a good reputation is much harder to build and maintain.

47) Have you ever committed a crime?

Have I ever committed a crime or been convicted of one? My record is clean but I’m sure I’ve committed a plethora of misdemeanors and several low level felonies.

48) Time traveler or ghost?

I can’t take being a time traveler seriously because of time paradoxes. I don’t really see the advantages of being a ghost either. I guess I would go with being a time traveler.

49) Does someone have a crush on you?

I have really bad luck with crushes. They’re always the girls I’m not interested in. Then again, maybe I just want most what I cannot have.

50) Are you in a relationship?

Nope.

There you have it. Feel free to ask me anything else in the comments section.

3 thoughts on “Everybody’s doing it – 50 Questions

  1. Good answers 🙂 I never expected my questions to still be in rotation but her they are again.

    It seems like you are a big Evangelion fan and I guess you’re pretty keen to see the next movie when it comes out. Are you a fan of the Japanese version or will you wait for a dub?

    • Neon Genesis Evangelion has its fair share of flaws (probably more than most), but it manages to shine when it matters. The Rebuild might look pretty, but as standalone movies they’re so-so. Trying to compress the series led to a pretty steep drop in character development so you miss a lot if you haven’t watched the original series.

      That being said, I’ll watch the next movie as soon as somebody subs it. The only dubbed anime I’ve enjoyed more than the original is Cowboy Bebop, and I think that’s a pretty common opinion anyway.

  2. Pingback: Might as Well Hop On the 50 Questions Train, Even if it has Probably Left the Station | Chromatic Aberration Everywhere

Leave a Reply

